On Air Now

Upcoming Shows

Program Schedule »


Listen Live Now » 1360 AM Northeast, WI 97.5 FM Green Bay, WI


Current Conditions(Green Bay,WI 54303)

More Weather »
56° Feels Like: 56°
Wind: NNW 9 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0.15”
Current Radar for Zip


AM Rain 59°


Clear 39°


Mostly Sunny 68°


Farmers eligible for drought aid


UNDATED (WSAU)  Farmers in all but 6 Wisconsin counties will be eligible for low-interest emergency loans, as the result of two new disaster declarations from the U-S-D-A. 31 counties were named as “primary natural disaster areas,” after a warm spring caused crops to start growing prematurely – only to die when a wave of frost and freezing temperatures hit afterward.

Kewaunee County was also declared a disaster area because of drought conditions from May through early August. Brown, Calumet, and Sheboygan were designated for both reasons. And all the counties which surround the primary areas are eligible for the same disaster relief, which means that only six are not covered. Those six are Crawford, Door, Grant, Lafayette, Racine, and Richland counties.

The U-S-D-A’s Farm Service Agency will handle the disaster loans. Eligible farmers have eight months to apply for loans that will help cover part of their actual losses.